Here’s the shortlist for the 2023 BBC National Short Story Award.

Literary Hub

September 7, 2023, 3:00pm

Today, the shortlist for the 2023 BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University was announced on BBC Radio 4’s Front Row. The BBC National Short Story Award, now in its eighteenth year, grants £15,000 to the winning author; each other shortlisted author will receive £600.

“My huge congratulations to the five authors who have made the shortlist on this highly competitive award in an outstandingly strong year,” said Reeta Chakrabarti, Chair of the Judging Panel, in a press release. “The short story leaves the author absolutely nowhere to hide, it demands discipline and precision. We on the judging panel read many top-class entries, and these five were the most glittering—topical, challenging, and beautifully calibrated.”

The winner will be announced on September 26. In the meantime, congratulations to the shortlisted writers:

“The Storm” by Nick Mulgrew
“It’s Me” by K Patrick
“Guests” by Cherise Saywell
“Churail” by Kamila Shamsie
“Comorbidities” by Naomi Wood

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top